Digger’s Diary – Vintage Vinyl, St. Louis, MO

Back in May I was at a wedding in St. Louis and I took the chance to visit one of my favourite record shops on planet Earth. And before you ask, yes I have visited all the record shops on Earth. Vintage Vinyl is based in a massive shop in the hip  Loop district that a lot of UK shops would kill for. Here is a picture:

I only had an hour in there so I hit the bargain section hard looking for some stuff you can’t get in the UK. Last time I got some killer Zydeco LPs but this time pickin’s were somewhat slimmer. I am, however, well pleased with these two:

Ricky Lee Jones’ self titled 1979 debut which was worth the 99c for the cover alone

and the second noteworthy record was Bootsy – Collins’ Shyne-o-myte

How has nobody ever sampled this? To be fair they might have but Whosampled says no. Finally I did what every respectable digger does: I bought a record with a killer title on spec:

Yeah.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

